Windows
CyberCapture is a feature in Avast Premium Security, and Avast Free Antivirus that detects and analyzes rare, suspicious files. CyberCapture is enabled by default to block all unrecognized files.
When you open an unrecognized file, CyberCapture runs an immediate scan to check if the file is safe to open.
If CyberCapture is unable to confirm that the file is safe, you see the message Hmm... This needs a closer look. By default, Avast secures the potentially malicious file and sends it to Avast Threat Labs, where it is analyzed in a safe, virtual environment. Click Close to exit the dialog without opening the file, and wait for Threat Labs to verify whether or not the file is safe.
Alternatively, the following additional options are available via More options:

We strongly recommend waiting for verification from Avast Threat Labs before running a file that CyberCapture has flagged as potentially malicious.
Once the analysis is complete, you receive a notification (normally within a few hours) informing you whether or not the file is safe to open.
You receive one of the following notifications:

By default, a file that CyberCapture flags as potentially malicious is automatically sent to Avast Threat Labs for analysis. You can change this behavior via your application settings:
☰ Menu ▸ Settings. 


CyberCapture now behaves according to your preferences.
If you selected Ask me to send files to Threat Labs, you need to select one of the following options each time CyberCapture detects a potentially malicious file:

We do not recommend selecting Open anyway, unless you are certain that the file is safe.
We do not recommend excluding files from any scan to ensure optimal protection for your PC. However, this option is available if you need to exclude a file temporarily for troubleshooting purposes. You can exclude certain files temporarily from all scans, shields, and CyberCapture at once:
☰ Menu ▸ Settings. 




The selected file is now ignored during CyberCapture scanning.
We do not recommend disabling CyberCapture. However, this option is available for temporary troubleshooting purposes.
☰ Menu ▸ Settings. 


CyberCapture is now disabled.
Was this article helpful?