Windows, Mac
Quarantine is a safe place in Avast Antivirus apps for storing potentially harmful files and completely isolating them from the rest of your operating system. Files in Quarantine cannot be accessed or run by any outside processes, software applications, or viruses.
By default, files are moved to Quarantine in the following ways:
Alternatively, you can move files to Quarantine manually.
Quarantine is available on Windows and Mac, in all Avast Antivirus apps:
For information about the differences between the old and the new versions of Avast One, refer to the following article: New Avast One - FAQs.
Access Quarantine in one of the following ways:
Explore ▸ Quarantine ▸ Open Quarantine.Alternatively, in the notification area of the Windows taskbar, right-click
the Avast icon and select Open Quarantine.
Explore ▸ Quarantine ▸ Open Quarantine.Avast automatically moves malicious files to Quarantine in the following ways:
To manually add files to Quarantine:
The file now appears in Quarantine and you can send it for analysis.
On Windows, you can customize the default actions in the individual settings for each Antivirus scan or shield. For more information, refer to the following articles:
- Avast Antivirus and New Avast One:
- Old Avast One:
Restoring files from Quarantine poses a high security risk. This action requires advanced user knowledge and is only intended for specific situations (for example, if a critical system file is accidentally moved to Quarantine).
To move a file out of Quarantine:
… More options (the three dots), then select an action:
The selected file(s) are restored.
You can send files to Avast Threat Labs, directly from Quarantine, for further analysis. We recommend sending the following file types:
In most cases, Avast Threat Labs will process the file without sending a response to you.
To submit a file to Avast Threat Labs:
… More options (the three dots), then select Send for analysis.The file(s) are submitted to Avast Threat Labs.
This action permanently deletes files from your device and cannot be undone.
To permanently delete a file from Quarantine:
The file is now deleted from your device.
By default, Quarantine is allocated a maximum space of 5120 MB, which you can change in Quarantine settings. To configure Quarantine space allocation:
This option is available only on Windows and only for Avast Antivirus and New Avast One.
Settings (the gear icon) in the top right corner of the Quarantine screen.The Quarantine space allocation is now changed.
Was this article helpful?